Tracy's Book Nook has been Re-designed!

You are now browsing on an expired page.

Click here to go to the new site.

Historical Fiction by

Al Lacy

The Angel of Mercy Series

A Promise for Breanna

Click here to buy

Breanna Brady finds herself face to face with Frank Miller, the man who once broke her heart and led her to mistrust men, sabotaging her relationship with John Stranger. Suspense, danger, romance and spiritual truth each play a part in this compelling story that draws readers into the life of an angel of mercy. (c)

  Faithful Heart

Click here to buy

The adventures of certified medical nurse Breanna Baylor continue as she tackles real-life issues of faithfulness and abuse. Breanna is in San Francisco where she discovers her sister Dottie has been beaten by her husband, a Civil War veteran. As the story unfolds, Breanna, Dottie and Dottie's children find themselves at risk as they fight to save a man they can no longer trust. (c)

Captive Set Free

Click here to buy

I haven't read this book and could not find an editor's review at

A Dream Fulfilled

Click here to buy

Book 4 in the Angel of Mercy Series is set in the mountain town of Denver in 1870. Nurse Breanna Baylor befriends a young nurse who must draw on her faith to deal with emotional wounds from her childhood as she faces the prospect of romance. (c)

Suffer the Little Children

Click here to buy

After accidentally learning of a planned assassination attempt on the life of President Ulysses S. Grant, Breanna risks her own safety to protect the country's leader. After receiving an award in Washington, Breanna comes across an "orphan train" heading west. As a special bond forms between Breanna, the children and the Lord, Breanna realizes the children's new family is not all that it appears. (c)

Whither Thou Goest

Click here to buy

Continuing the adventures of Old West heroine Breanna Baylor, book six of the "Angel of Mercy" series begins with the wedding of Breanna and the legendary Stranger, whose true identity has now been revealed. Before the nuptials, their best man, Chief U.S. Marshal Solomon Duvall, disappears. After the ceremony, both John and Breanna - who has pledged "Whither thou goest, I will go"--put their own lives in danger as they set out to find him. (c)

Final Justice

Click here to buy

I haven't read this book and couldn't find an editor's review on

Not By Might

Click here to buy

Two years prior, Nurse Natalie Fallon had ended a relationship with Rex Rawlins when she learned he was planning a rural practice. Determined not to marry a country doctor like her father, she runs to Denver to escape. A serious accident brings them together, but it will take a miracle to give them the promise of a life together. (c)

Things Not Seen

Click here to buy

In this ninth book in the Angel of Mercy series, nurse Breanna Baylor Brockman is temporarily assigned to Dr. McClay Lowry at a clinic in Redstone, Colorado. Soon after she arrives, someone starts a methodical killing spree in the town, murdering even Dr. Lowry's wife. Breanna suspects who the killer is--but before she can confirm her suspicion, he kidnaps Breanna and imprisons her in a mountain cabin, where he promises to execute her in a few days. While he's gone, storms and a rising river threaten the cabin, testing Breanna's faith even more. Al Lacy delivers another dramatic story that demonstrates the power of a faith based on Things Not Seen. (c)

Far Above Rubies

Click here to buy

Continuing the adventures of Old West heroine Breanna Baylor Brockman, Book Ten of the popular Angel of Mercy series incorporates several well-known historical 1860s outlaws. When eighteen-year-old Ginny Grayson moves to Missouri, she falls in love with hardware drummer Wesley Logan. But Logan's gambling debts force him to join the infamous James-Younger gang, and Ginny willingly enters the fray! When her old friend Dottie and Dottie's sister Breanna enter the picture, Ginny realizes that she wants out of the gang. But is it too late for a new a woman whose worth is far above rubies? (c)